Featured post

Welcome to Papua New Guinea National Commission for UNESCO

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organizaton (UNESCO) was founded on 16th November, 1945.
The United Nations was established on 24 October 1945 by 51 countries (founder Member States) determined to maintain peace through international cooperation and collective security. It was Franklin D. Roosevelt, the President of the United States, who coined the term ‘United Nations’, which appeared for the fi rst time in the Declaration by United Nations of 1 January 1942. The United Nations now has 192 Member States, almost all the nations of the world.


Communication, information and knowledge are driving forces of sustainable development. UNESCO believes they must also become the basic tools for disadvantaged people to improve their own lives. To build inclusive knowledge societies, the Organization focuses on the human dimensions of the digital divide – cultural and linguistic diversity of contents, access and empowerment of civil society.


Promote cultural diversity by safeguarding heritage in its various dimensions and enhancing cultural expressions Promote social cohesion by fostering pluralism, intercultural dialogue, and a culture of peace, as well as the central role of culture in sustainable development UNESCO works to preserve humanity’s irreplaceable riches:
its diversity and shared heritage A set of conventions has been established to ensure the protection and safeguarding of humanity’s shared heritage in both its tangible and intangible forms.
The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted in 1972, led to the establishment of the World Heritage List, which as of June 2009 includes 890 outstanding cultural and natural sites. The World Heritage Centre is the permanent secretariat of this convention. The International Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage, adopted in 2003, addresses cultural expressions transmitted within communities. The Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity established by the Convention contains dozens of examples of traditional culture and folklore.

The UNESCO culture sector comprises of both:
>Culture & Heritage
>Parks & Conservation


Promoting literacy and quality education for all throughout life, with a particular emphasis on gender
equality, youth and reaching society’s most vulnerable and marginalized groups, including indigenous peoples. Special attention is placed on Africa, the least developed countries
and small island developing states (SIDS), with education for sustainable development as a crosscutting concern.


UNESCO’s mission is to contribute to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information.


UNESCO works to create the conditions for dialogue among civilizations, cultures and peoples, based upon respect for commonly shared values. It is through this dialogue that the world can achieve global visions of sustainable development encompassing observance of human rights, mutual respect and the alleviation of poverty, all of which are at the heart of UNESCO’S mission and activities.